B-1 Visa exemption (사증면제)

This is basically a passport stamp for citizens from countries which do not require a visa of any kind to travel to Korea for 30, 60, 90, or 180 days.


You must be a citizen of a country that has signed a visa waiver agreement with the government of the Republic of Korea.

Required Documents 

  • An application form
  • Valid Passport
  • Fee (30,000 KRW)

*You may also need additional documents proving that you are visiting Korea for a short period of time for tourism, culture and or other similar reasons.

Maximum Length Of Stay

You are allowed to stay during the period of sojourn specified in the visa waiver agreement.

Change Of Status And Extension Of Stay

B-1 holders cannot apply for extension or change of status. So if you want to stay more than the period specified in the visa waiver agreement you are required to apply for a visa before coming to Korea.

Additional Information

If you visit Korea for vacation purpose with a diplomatic passport or an official passport, a B-1 Visa Exempted visa will be issued. If an ordinary passport holders whose country has signed the visa wavier agreement with the government of the Republic of Korea, visit Korea for tourism or any short term non-profit stay a B-1 visa will be issued.

B-1 visa holders are only allowed to engage in activities that are defined in the visa waiver agreement. Usually this includes all the activities allowed under a C-3 visa except academic and profit-making activities.

If applicants want to engage in activities other than those allowed by the agreement, for example: engage in short-term employment or any other profit making activities or the length of their stay is going to exceed the period of sojourn specified in the wavier agreement they must get a visa appropriate to their purpose of stay.

Countries under the Visa Exemption Agreement

Here is a list of countries that have signed a visa waiver agreement with South Korea.

Designated Countries & Regions Granted Visa-Free Entry to Korea

Asia Japan (90 Days), Hong Kong (90 Days), Macao (90 Days), Taiwan (90 Days), Kuwait(90 Days), Brunei, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain (90 Days)
North America United States (90 Days), Canada (6 Months)
South America Argentina, Honduras, Paraguay, Uruguay, Ecuador, Guyana
Europe Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Cyprus, Albania, Croatia, Slovenia (90 Days), Vatican, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro
Oceania Australia (90 Days), Guam, Fiji, Nauru, Palau, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Micronesia, New Caledonia, Samoa, Tuvalu, Tonga
Africa Republic of South Africa, Mauritius, Seychelles, Swaziland, Egypt

In order to check if you are eligible for the visa free entry to Korea and for other requirements, please contact the Korean immigration office or visit the website http://www.hikorea.go.kr to confirm.


Leave a Reply